Kidnapped, Catriona, An Island Nights’ Entertainment by Robert Louis Stevenson

Автор: andrey4444. Опубликовано в Роберт Луис Стивенсон

The book includes the film series "Adventures of David Balfour" and a collection of "Island Nights' Entertainments".

In the novel "Kidnapped" young David Balfour, an orphan from a noble family of esquires and heir of an ancient castle, adult life starts with a meeting with meanness and treachery. Cruel orders of the English fleet, a collision with the warlike chiefs of the Scottish clans and Royal troops, a test of friendship, loyalty and separation from his beloved — so turns to David's legitimate desire to join the law of inheritance...

The main theme of the novel "Catriona" was the love of David Balfour to the beautiful and rebellious Catriona. The inspiration for the heroine gave Stevenson his own, a young love, and not a realized dream.

Island Nights' Entertainments (also known as South Sea Tales) is a collection of short stories by Robert Louis Stevenson, first published in 1893. It would prove to contain some of his final completed work before his death in 1894. It contains three stories: "The Beach of Falesa", "The Bottle Imp", "The Isle of Voices".

Table of Contents:

    Preface to the Biographical Edition
       1. I Set off Upon My Journey to the House of Shaws
       2. I Come to My Journey’s End
       3. I Make Acquaintance of My Uncle
       4. I Run a Great Danger in the House of Shaws
       5. I Go to the Queen’s Ferry
       6. What Befell at the Queen’s Ferry
       7. I Go to Sea in the Brig “Covenant” Of Dysart
       8. The Round-House
       9. The Man with the Belt of Gold
       10. The Siege of the Round-House
       11. The Captain Knuckles Under
       12. I Hear of the “Red Fox”
       13. The Loss of the Brig
       14. The Islet
       15. The Lad with the Silver Button: Through the Isle of Mull
       16. The Lad with the Silver Button: Across Morven
       17. The Death of the Red Fox
       18. I Talk with Alan in the Wood of Lettermore
       19. The House of Fear
       20. The Flight in the Heather: The Rocks
       21. The Flight in the Heather: The Heugh of Corrynakiegh
       22. The Flight in the Heather: The Moor
       23. Cluny’s Cage
       24. The Flight in the Heather: The Quarrel
       25. In Balquhidder
       26. End of the Flight: We Pass the Forth
       27. I Come to Mr. Rankeillor
       28. I Go in Quest of My Inheritance
       29. I Come into My Kingdom
       30. Good-Bye

    Part I — The Lord Advocate
       1. A Beggar on Horseback
       2. The Highland Writer
       3. I Go to Pilrig
       4. Lord Advocate Prestongrange
       5. In the Advocate’s House
       6. Umquile the Master of Lovat
       7. I Make a Fault in Honour
       8. The Bravo
       9. The Heather on Fire
       10. The Red-headed Man
       11. The Wood by Silvermills
       12. On the March Again with Alan
       13. Gillane Sands
       14. The Bass
       15. Black Andie’s Tale of Tod Lapraik
       16. The Missing Witness
       17. The Memorial
       18. The Tee’d Ball
       19. I Am Much in the Hands of the Ladies
       20. I Continue to Move in Good Society
    Part II — Father and Daughter
       21. The Voyage into Holland
       22. Helvoetsluys
       23. Travels in Holland
       24. Full Story of a Copy of Heineccius
       25. The Return of James More
       26. The Threesome
       27. A Twosome
       28. In which I Am Left Alone
       29. We Meet in Dunkirk.
       30. The Letter from the Ship
       31. Conclusion

    The Beach of Falesa.
       1. A South Sea Bridal.
       2. The Ban.
       3. The Missionary.
       4. Devil-Work.
       5. Night in the Bush.
    The Bottle Imp.
    The Isle of Voices.


Скачать / Download Kidnappe, Catriona, An Island Nights’ Entertainment by Robert Louis Stevenson с


 AudioBook. Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson


 FULL Audiobook. Island Nights' Entertainment by Robert Louis Stevenson